Awards and affiliations

  • Telly Awards, 2015
  • Nieman Fellowship, Harvard University, class of 1999
  • Pulitzer Prize, International Reporting (Dallas Morning News team project)
  • Society of American Travel Writers Lowell Thomas Awards, Gold
  • American Society of Journalists and Authors, first place
  • James Beard Foundation Journalism Awards, finalist
  • American Society of Sunday and Feature Editors, first place
  • National Association of Hispanic Journalists, first place
  • Associated Press Managing Editors, first place

 Member of the American Society of Media Photographers